Hunting & fishing can be child’s play…get started today!


MN Shoot Selects_BLP0003It’s never too early to get the kids interested in outdoor activities like hunting and fishing.  Many states have beginner education courses and limited licensing requirements so that you can pass your love for outdoor sports on to your children.

As you explore, you will find that some states have no hunting age requirements for big game hunting, but most impose a minimum hunting age requirement for young hunters. Be sure to research the laws in your state for any and all requirements.  If hunting game, most states require some sort of hunter education course and firearms safety instruction is a must. Every youth hunter should be familiar with the firearm and its safety before venturing out to hunt.

Arkansas

  • No age limit under the direct supervision of a hunter with valid hunting license & 21+ years old.
  • Hunter education is required if born after Dec. 31, 1968.
  • At 16 years of age an Arkansas hunting license is required.
  • ARKANSAS REGULATIONS

Idaho

  • 12 years old to hunt big game.
  • 10 years old for supervised hunting, and 12 years old to hunt alone.
  • If born after Jan. 1, 1975 you must have completed an approved hunter education course.
  • IDAHO REGULATIONS

Minnesota

  • Ages 10 and 11 may obtain a free firearm license before hunting big game.
  • Valid for either-sex deer in lottery, managed, and intensive.
  • Firearms safety certificate course may be taken at age 11.
  • Ages 12 and 13 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian while hunting.
  • MINNESOTA REGULATIONS

Looking for more information, want to check out another state or check out education opportunities?  Visit the International Hunters Education Association website as the place you start your hunt.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.